Though Vile as He: A Thanksgiving Message

Nothing gets my blood pumping more than when I hear about serious child abuse/neglect, especially when it’s sexual abuse or when it leads to immense suffering or death. To me, these offenders are among the most depraved people on earth, along with ISIS.

That is when I am reminded of the lyics of this hymn (There Is a Fountain):

The dying thief rejoiced to see
that fountain in his day;
And there may I, though vile as he,
wash all my sins away.

Though the child abuser and murderer may offend my sensibilities more than other sinners, every person (myself included) comes into this world condemned under the curse of sin and is an enemy of God. Apart from the grace of God opening my eyes to the Gospel at the age of 13, I would be equally condemned.

I was no less vile in my heart than the child abuser or murderer. But God breathed life into my soul and adopted me into His family. And for this grace of God I give thanks.

~Happy Thanksgiving~

image

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

